Advent Sunday – Week 3…uh 4

Well, we didn’t caught up yet on our Advent wreath, so we’re on week 3 instead of week 4. I’m off of work after Monday, so, there will be more time and we’ll get week 4 done before Christmas. Maybe tomorrow night.

Week 3 in our family tradition is “Joy” and is the pink candle. Why is Joy the pink candle? To be honest, I don’t know, but that is how we did it when I was a kid and that is the way we do it now.

The kids were antsy tonight. You know, the excitement is lighting the candles and singing the songs afterwards, with Dad going “blah, blah, blah” in the middle like Charlie Brown’s teacher.

However, these Advent wreath times have been significant to me. It’s simple–we just cover the basics–but God wants us to get the basics, and it takes me a while to clue in.

Our scripture tonight was from Phil 4:4: Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice!

We talked about how Paul gives us a command to rejoice always, not just when we feel like it.

It reminds me of that song by Matt Redmon: “Blessed Be Your Name“:

Blessed be Your name when the sun’s shining down on me
When the world’s “all as it should be”
Blessed be Your name
And blessed be Your name on the road marked with suffering
Though there’s pain in the offering
Blessed be Your name

Lord, help me to rejoice in you in all situations!

