A Special Day

Today is a special day in our family because it is my wife’s birthday. As I was having my quiet time this morning, I was thinking, wouldn’t it be great if God would give me a verse to bless my wife with? However, I was reading in Isaiah 57 this morning and the title in my bible reads Evil Leaders Rebuked. I don’t think I’m going to find a verse there.

As I sought more familiar territory, Proverbs 31 came to mind. Surely there is something there. I wasn’t disappointed. A couple verses stuck out to me as I read the passage:

v. 26: She opens her mouth in wisdom, And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.
My wife teaches our children at home, and this verse exemplifies her heart. I know that a lot of times she feels ill-equipped to teach our boys. But one thing is certain: The teaching of kindness is a daily walk for her. I lose my patience so easily with boys that put the “W” in “wiggle”, when you’re trying to talk to them. But my wife can reign them in with a kind word.

v.10: An excellent wife, who can find? For her worth is far above jewels. Steven Curtis Chapman has a song called “11-6-64”, where he sings about the day that his wife was born. How even though he was young, the day must have been brighter, better, the sky bluer, because God started His plan for their life together.

My darling, I praise God for the day that you were born! You are a precious jewel to me and a gift from God. I am so thankful for you and I pray that God will bless you today!

Happy Birthday!

