OSHA Regulations at Home

 We want our kids to feel included, so we “allow” them to help out around the house. Things like vacuuming, doing the wash, and cleaning the bathrooms helps them to really feel like they’re part of the family.

In fact, when we bought our last vacuum cleaner, we brought our youngest along. I was all gung-ho for getting an upright vacuum, but when we took the test drive, it was obvious that the upright was going to be too heavy and bulky for him to maneuver on his own. So we opted to go with a canister vac. And once we settled on a model, let our little slave..uh son give it a test drive.

The problem is, they’ve been balking at doing the vacuuming lately. The complaint? It’s too loud. Of course, “too loud” is a relative thing. They don’t say “too loud” when they’re watching a Veggie Tale and you can hear the theme song down the street. They don’t say “too loud”, when they’re ambushing the bad guys and putting them in jail and my wife gives me that look. You know, the look that says, “I can’t take it any more. Give me the credit card, because I’m going shopping...ALONE!!!

But the vacuum cleaner is too loud. It’s funny, because I don’t remember seeing the warning label on the box. The bright red one that says: THIS DEVICE CAN CAUSE LOSS OF HEARING.

But one of the kids must have reported us to OSHA, because the next think I knew, my wife had purchased PPE (Personal Protective Equipment, or in this case, ear muffs) for this very occasion. Oh, well. At least now they’ll do the vacuum cleaning without complaining.

