Persistent Spider

We’re seeing a lot of spiders around the house lately. I don’t know what it is, but the webs are everywhere: In the basement, in the garage, and outside around the house.

This spider has made his home right outside our back door. The problem is that he has made it in a very bad place. The bottom part is connected to our gas grill and the top part of the web partially blocks the doorway.

When I leave for work in the morning, the web is there. When I get home, it is gone.

Over the past two weeks this has happened 4 or 5 times. Web is there in the morning, gone in the evening. This morning he was there again, and gone this evening. But then when I went outside tonight, he was back with a newly spun web. I’m thinking, “What is wrong with him? Doesn’t he get it? That web will just be gone tomorrow again.

How many times am I like that spider. I try to do the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results and getting frustrated when it doesn’t work out again. I’m facing a situation like that. Just persisting, hanging on and hoping things will turn out differently. Just like that stupid spider. Sometimes persistence is good, but other times it is stubbornness, and other times, like this, it is insanity.

Father God, help me to listen and hear and change my direction so that I’m following You.

