May Give To You

I’ve been meditating on Ephesians 1:17 the last few days and going at it phrase by phrase:

that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of Him.

The next phrase was:

“may give to you”

Paul doesn’t pray that we would acquire a spirit of wisdom and of revelation. He doesn’t pray that we should work hard, discipline ourselves, buckle down and strive to earn wisdom and revelation. 

He prays that God would give them to us.

A few things came to mind:

We do not have what it takes to get what is needed to know God.  The only way that we can know God is for Him to reveal Himself to us.  This means that I am not self-sufficient, I am not capable.  I am completely helpless in the relationship that matters most in my life.  I need for God to give to me, because that is the only way I can live and have purpose.

God wants us to recognize our need for Him and to trust Him to provide for us.  Not only are we helpless, but we need to recognize our helplessness. In this passage, Paul is praying for the Ephesians.  He sees their need to know God and understand some of the truths about God that will change there lives.  It is like he tries to explain it to them, but then it is as almost if the words fail him.  He wants them to understand, but then he recognizes his inability to explain things as he sees them.  And so he gets to a point where he just has to stop and pray, “God, you give them what they need to understand. I don’t think I can express it.  They need You to show them.” 

God gives because it is His Nature to do so. God delights in giving to me, just as I delight in giving presents to my kids.  He gives because He loves me.  He gives out of His abundance in all things.  He gives so that we can appreciate the Gift.  He gives so that we would see His glory and give thanks for Him and to Him.

It is not my nature to give.  I want to hoard, to keep for myself.  I want to be selfish.  But when I am selfish, I miss out on the blessing of Giving. I think that God gives, so that we would see His example and want to follow Him.

(Yeah, I know, “blah, blah blah”. What is the point of all of this? Really, I’m trying to get somewhere in this passage.  I have been trying to understand the application of this passage in my life and want to get to the point.  However, I have a tendency to ramble on.)

Lord, please show the Truth in this passage.  Please give to me the revelation, the wisdom to understand and see how to apply this and work it out in my life.

Leave a Reply

