Where the Rubber Meets the Road

In my quiet time, I have been going through Ephesians 1:17 phrase by phrase:

that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of Him.

The goal is knowing God, not in a fact-based way, but a knowing as a person kind of way. And I need God to give me wisdom and revelation to know Him, because otherwise I would be clueless.

The question, though, is how does this apply to my life? How does knowing God affect my day-to-day living? There are lots of easy answers on this one, but the one I’ve been struggling with, for years, is: How do I know God [include God/let God be Lord] in my work?

I can see how this applies in my family life and my church life, but being an engineer for a secular company, I find it hard knowing how to relate to God when it comes to work. 

Yet he has called me to this profession and this means to provide for my needs.  I spend a lot of my life in this environment.  It would seem that God would want to be included in that part of my life, and yet time and time again, I seem to struggle with how this would on a day to day basis.

To be honest, a lot of my day, I don’t think about God.  I am focused on writing code, debugging issues, testing code, designing new products.  I can forget my spiritual life completely after walking to my cubicle and sitting at my desk.

What is really frustrating is when I have an exceptional quiet time in the morning and walk into work with a renewed spirit, full of God’s grace and encouragement.  I plan to work “with God at my side”.

But then three hours later, after the ninth interruption, two meetings and a list of new things that I am already behind in, that I look up and realize that my “renewed spirit” had evaporated into stress, frustration, and anger.  I some how make it through the day, weary and beaten, having yelled at co-workers and having not accomplished a single task.

Thankfully, that is not every day.  But there are times when it happens more often than I’d like to admit. Where is God in days like that? What am I doing wrong?

I need a spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of God to show me how He is working in those days (and every other day) to draw me to Him.

At this point, I still have very few answers.  But there are a few things that God is starting to show me:

  • People are more important than tasks.  (This is especially needed when I am being interrupted from my work to help other people.)
  • I need to swallow my pride and listen more.  (I have a tendency to defend my “territory” (area of expertise), particularly in meetings, attacking people rather than listening.)
  • Prayer is always good, whenever I think of it.  (Lately, one of my favorite prayers is: “Jesus, help! I can’t do this!”)

If anyone has had success in this area, I welcome your comments or suggestions.

Leave a Reply

