Weekly Friday Post

…or so it seems.  Has it really been a week?

I’ve been pouring my energy, time and effort into the first life group meeting (which was last night) and so any time I thought of posting, it was: I have nothing to say. And since my motto is: “If you don’t have anything to say, then don’t.” I followed my own advice…motto…whatever.

(This may make a lot less sense when I have more sleep.)

I’m sure you’ve managed without me.  Checking all the unread posts in my feed reader, there has been more than enough content to satisfy anyone’s desire for “Input!”

Life group…how did it go? Fine, just fine.  We had a threat of a large winter storm that was supposed to dump a mighty 1-2 inches of frozen precipitation on our fine city.  <rant>It all evaporated before it reached the ground, and I don’t even think my car got wet.  However the threat of snow closed all the schools. Ridiculous.</rant>  We had one couple show up and had a good visit with them.

Although this week I kept convincing myself that it wasn’t about who came or how many people came, I was a little disappointed with the turnout (although we had a lovely time). I started to question whether I heard right about starting this  life group.  (Just being honest here.)

I know that I just need to trust God, but am a little discouraged that I spent so much time working on it.  But the verse where Paul talks about being poured out like a drink offering comes to mind, and my piddly few hours of preparation starts to sound pretty trivial. I’ve got a lot to be thankful for and I know I just need to press on and trust God to take care of the results.  It is His group, and He knows what is best.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Friday Post

  1. The first time I heard them cancel school because “it might snow”, I laughed and laughed and laughed. Mostly because it never did.

    The south is a wonderful place.

    Sorry your group is so small this week. Maybe it will just grow in small waves, allowing you to get to know group members really well.

    God still moves!

    Blessings,

  2. Shelly,

    I forgot to mention that our boys, although disappointed, weren’t exempt from going to “the academy.” (i.e. we still had school).

    Thanks for encouragement about our group. You are right–small is good, if that is what God wants it to be.

    Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

