Fresh Wind in My Sails

I know it has been a while since I’ve posted anything here.  There have been a lot of other things on my plate and to be honest I couldn’t think of anything to post.

Our church had a men’s retreat this past weekend. I waffled a bit about going, but in a moment of weakness, I just wrote out the check and committed myself.  It was a step of faith more than anything else, because I really didn’t want to go, but felt that I should go.  (Which, by the way, isn’t a good reason to do something, as my wife would tell me.) But there was that niggle in the back of my mind that relationships are important to God, and that this was an opportunity to build on that.

Well, do I believe it or not? I asked myself.

Kicking myself all week for signing up, I headed down to the camp.  When I got there, as I was walking up to the lodge, I kept thinking: “I don’t want to be here, I don’t want to be here.” The couch and a rental movie with my hon was sounding pretty good. And with that, I walked in.

Friday night started out pretty good with some much-needed worship. I got a chance to pray with a brother, and the teen-age guys who had come led a 3 hour after-teaching-session worship jam.  I was quite impressed.

Driving home Saturday afternoon, I was tired, but felt spiritually refreshed, encouraged, and blessed. I’m really glad that I went.

Leave a Reply

