Preoccupied

Posting has been light around here, but it really is only because I’ve been preoccupied with working on our churches web site.  Not that I know much about HTML and CSS and such, but being the sound ministry coordinator, I’ve been posting the sermons online, and have been noticing the “old-schoolness” of the web site.

(I say “old-school” in reference to a series of podcasts that the Geeks and God guys have been doing on Drupal. Any static HTML sites built a page at a time are considered “old-school” in their book.  After running on WordPress for a while and seeing how powerful it is, I’d have to agree with them.)

I’ve been trying to figure out a way to improve our “old-school” site with a little CSS and patch it until we can get a real web site going, but the site was built with something called “Pagebuilder”, which basically gives you templates and you add the content, but it isn’t really conducive for heavy hacking.

And to be honest with you, I’m not much on the design side either.  I know how to spell CSS, but that is about it.

So I’ve been reading up on CSS and playing around with using it to make some menus, but I think I’ve finally given up on that for now and have started looking at Drupal as a CMS for the site.

I had looked at WordPress, because there are a lot of small churches that use it for their web site.  It would be easier to use too.  But after having a web site taskforce meeting about a month ago at the church, it was obvious that it wasn’t going to be powerful enough.

So I’ve set up a web server on my home PC with PHP and MySQL and have got a test site running with Drupal.  I guess I’ll end up having to learn CSS somewhat unless I want the church site to look like hundreds of other sites.

Or maybe we should hire someone who knows what they’re doing….any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

