Home Schooling Convention

My wife and I got back from the HEAV home schooling convention in Richmond on Saturday night. “HEAV” (which is pronounced: H-E-A-V) stands for Home Educators Association of Virginia. It is a statewide association of people who do home schooling.

Although not the correct pronunciation, we usually say “heave” and sometimes with a push from the abdomen, so that it comes out like someone punched you in the stomach, or you felt nauseated and you needed to …heave.

But that is all in good fun.

We’ve been home schooling for 5 years, and this is our first time at the convention, although it is held annually. The cost is a bit expensive, and so we have been reluctant to go.

My reluctance was also related to a local convention that we went to before we started home schooling and were pretty clueless about the whole thing. We were exposed to the whole have-a-bunch-of-kids-grow-your-own-food-live-off-the-land kind of home schooling. I know I’m exaggerating a little bit, but there are some people like that out there and we are not them.

That turned me off to home schooling conventions for a while. And the idea of going to a state wide convention seemed overwhelming and unnecessary.

So we’ve been going on our own merry way for the past 5 years without any problems. But this next year, we’re having to do some re-tooling, and my wife wanted to go, so I said OK.

It wasn’t bad as I expected. In fact, I enjoyed parts of it. There were a couple of good workshops that I really enjoyed and got something out of. And I didn’t see as many jean jumpers as I expected–only one, actually.

So although there was nothing earth-shattering that we learned, it felt like we got re-tooled, re-focused and a new perspective on this adventure that we’re on of educating our kids.

2 thoughts on “Home Schooling Convention

  1. I almost went, too but I pulled a muscle in my back and toting my 26 lb. infant didn’t seem like something I wanted to do.

    It looks great. Maybe next year!

  2. Wow,

    I didn’t know that you were getting into home schooling quite yet, although I think I remembered you mentioning it on your blog.

    The conference can definitely be a bit overwhelming, but there are a lot of people there that can provide resources and encouragement. It is a worthwhile investment!

    Hope your back feels better–those muscle strains can be painful!

Leave a Reply

