Questions for God

I was talking to my folks a couple of weeks ago and my mom was telling me about a book that she was reading called, Can You Hear Me? by Brad Jersak. She was telling about how it gave a list of questions that you could ask God and listen for an answer.

The idea was that these are questions that you would ask a friend to get to know them better. By specifically asking God questions and listening for an answer, it would help to develop your relationship with God and give you some non-risky way of practicing listening for God’s voice.

I know in relating to other people, I hate it when people monopolize the conversation by talking about themselves the whole time. A lot of times I could butt my way into the conversation, and get my fair share of the conversation pie, but I’d rather that the other person were interested enough to ask about me. The monopolizers I can stand but try to avoid, those who give and take, I look forward to talking to.

I wonder if God doesn’t feel the same way sometimes.

So my mom e-mailed me a list of questions from the book:

  1. What’s grieving you these days? Why?
  2. What’s exciting you these days? Why?
  3. What do you like about me? Why?
  4. What do you see when you look at me?
  5. When was the last time you wept over me? Why?
  6. When was the last time you laughed over me? Why?
  7. If you could meet me anywhere face-to-face, where would it be?
  8. If my heart is your home, what does that home look like?
  9. If you could play a game with me, what would it be? Why?

She had asked question #9 and had heard an answer from God. I liked the question, because it wasn’t life -or-death kind of question, and was kind of low risk, so I thought to try it out.

To be honest, though, it took me several days before I got up enough nerve to ask God. I was afraid of what He would say. What if He didn’t answer? What if He didn’t want to play a game with me? But I reminded myself of the truth, and took the plunge.

The thing that surprised me was how quickly I heard an answer.  I didn’t have to listen long and hard.  By the time I asked the question, the answer was there.

Father God, What game would You like to play with me?

Hide and Seek.

Why?

Because when you seek Me, you will find Me.

I didn’t hear an audible voice–it sounded more like me thinking to myself, but I’m pretty sure that I heard correctly.  His response was not even that surprising, because that is what my relationship with God has been like lately.  I’m finding myself asking, “God what are you doing?” a lot.

The thought then came to me that God want me to seek Him in my daily life, asking the question:
“God, where are You in this situation?”
“Where are You at work?”

Continually looking and asking and seeking Him. And if I do that, His promise was: You will find Me.

Leave a Reply

