Learning with My Heart

Last weekend we had a Worship conference at our church.  It was good, really good.  There is something about being in God’s presence that: 1. Helps to give you a new perspective, His perspective. 2. Put wind in your spiritual sails to help you move forward, rather than being stuck.

We were tired after the weekend, but refreshed as well.  But then the week hit. Reality again. And life is back to normal, like nothing ever happened. It was like the weekend never happened.

And so, as I’m getting back into real life, I’m wondering: “Does any of this stuff ever stick? Can I ever change? Can God teach me something and I will be able to take it, remember it and apply it to my life?

One of my biggest issues with conferences and things like that is that I get saturated for a few days, and everything seems to be clear.  God gives me new purpose and I think things will be different.

But then I go back to real life, and within a week or so, it’s like it never happened.

I recently heard a teaching that we learn with our mind quickly, but we forget quickly.  However, our hearts take much longer to learn, but when it does learn, it doesn’t forget easily.

I’m tired of learning and forgetting.  I want to start learning things with my heart.  Thankfully we have a patient Father to teach us, because, I don’t know about you, but when it comes to learning, my heart’s a real retard.

Leave a Reply

