When Geeks Cry (Part 1)

I consider myself a geek.  I’m an engineer by trade, and so I’m always trying to figure how stuff works, what’s wrong with it and how to fix it.  That’s just how I roll.

So when my wife called last week saying that she was having trouble with our laptop, I wasn’t too worried.

And then when I got home and got a BSOD that indicated that there was a hard drive problem, I was wasn’t worried.  Actually, I was a little excited.

I had wanted to have an excuse to buy SpinRite because I had heard so much about it on the Security Now! podcast. It was touted as pretty much a utility to fix whatever problem your hard drive had. It’s a little pricey, so I had been waiting for a good excuse to buy it, and now with this hard drive problem on our laptop, I had my reason.

So I went to GRC.com and got a copy and burned it to a CD and booted up our laptop.  It came up and went through the screens.  I selected the hard drive to scan and went to go to the next screen.

The program said, “Scanning for drives…” and just stayed there. I waited for hours and it was still stuck on the same screen.

That didn’t seem right, so I rebooted and tried again, and again, and again.  Same thing.  My smile was gone.

I then tried putting the drive in the laptop’s 2nd drive bay.  That did the trick.  SpinRite came up and started working on the drive. I knew it would take awhile, so I left it overnight working at 0.1% done.

The next morning I came in and it was 7 hours into the drive and 0.5 % done, and predicting completion in 80 some hours. “That’s not right, ” I thought, so I stopped it, and started again at 2% into the drive.  “Maybe the first few sectors are pretty bad.”

This time it seemed to go a little faster…for a while.  And then it hung up again and started chugging on another sector.

And so I let it run some more.  A few days later, little progress was made on the drive and it was now predicting over 1000 hours until it would be done.  I wasn’t smiling anymore.

2 thoughts on “When Geeks Cry (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: When Geeks Cry (Part 2) « Not (quite) Balanced

  2. Pingback: When Geeks Cry (Part 3) « Not (quite) Balanced

Leave a Reply

