It Is What It Is

“The garden didn’t do as good as I wanted.  Oh well, it is what it is.”

“That doctor’s visit didn’t go so well.  I guess, it is what it is.

I’ve noticed this saying a lot lately.  At home, at work, from the pulpit, and even in the podcasts that I listen to on my commute.  This seems to be a popular saying, recently.  At least I don’t remember people saying as frequently as they seem to now.

Ah, but my memory isn’t what it used to be….oh well….__ __ ____ __ __.

See what I mean?

What does this mean, anyway?

It seems to be a phrase of disappointment and resignation:  I’m in a situation which didn’t turn out like I wanted.  I guess I just gotta suck it up and deal with it.

Don’t cry over spilt milk.

Que sera sera.

That’s life.

I don’t like it.  Do we really need to just accept things as they are and give up? Should we walk through life with a fatalistic attitude, accepting good or bad as our lot in life? It is a lie from the pit of hell.  Surely the Enemy would have us complacently accept good and bad without hope.

But..

…though our outer man is decaying, yet our inner man is being renewed day by day. For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison, while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.

2 Cor 4:16-18

I have a loving Heavenly Father who knows my needs and has my best interests at hand.  Sure, it is easy to say when things are going good, but not so much when things aren’t going my way. I need to be reminded that my affliction is both “light” and “momentary.”

So I reject the phrase, It is what it is.

Instead, I propose:

It is what He says it is, because He is I AM.

And I think there is more Truth in that.

Leave a Reply

