The End of a Gated Community

When we bought our house 4 years ago, it came with an ornate iron gate that opened up to block our driveway.  Why?  I have no idea.

But we lived with it, not knowing exactly how to rid ourselves of it, but thinking, “Hey, somebody would pay money for this thing…”  And so, in late July, an A/C repairman was admiring the gate, when my intrepid wife asked, “Wanna buy it?”

He did (he wanted it for his horse farm), and we sold it too him for more money than I expected to get for it.   (Thanks to the family negotiator…i.e. not me.) Hey, I was so sick of it, I would’ve given it away. But my better half always seems to know better than to give something away. Maybe that’s why she always beats me in Monopoly.

100_1984

And so, now we live in a gate free community.

Leave a Reply

