Crunch Time

I’m a little over a week out from my first half marathon. I decided to pick the race touted as "America’s toughest road marathon" to make it my first half. Why? At this point I don’t know–it sounded good when I signed up in December. But I’ve asked myself that question for months now.

Of course, my training has gone not (quite) as planned. I rolled my ankle twice in February:

image

This set my training back by several weeks at least trying to nurse my ankle back to health. Then I spent a month just trying to build my mileage back up so that I could even think about running something close to 13 miles.

My last 2 weekends have been focused on some final training runs where I tried to tackle my 2 biggest challenges for this run:

1. The Mountain and
2. The Distance.

The elevation profile for the half looks like:

image

I’ve been sweating the first 4 miles.  How am I ever going to be able to run up that mountain?! Running uphill for 3 miles straight.  Now this is a challenge…

The first weekend in April, I finally did run up the mountain, it was tough, but doable.  It wasn’t as steep as I expected. I did have to walk some to catch my breath, but made it up ok. Coming back down was sheer bliss.

Last weekend, I did the distance–I ran 13 miles for the first time in my life. My legs (and ankle) didn’t fall off–just a little tired and wobbly.

image

And now I know that I can survive. It won’t necessarily be pretty, but I’m going to get to the end of the course.

2 thoughts on “Crunch Time

  1. Pingback: Trail Running | Not (quite) Balanced

Leave a Reply

