Not Much of a Reader

…except on vacation.  I typically find it hard to put down a good book once I’ve picked it up.  And so I haven’t read much.  I just haven’t found much to interest me.  My wife says I’m picky, but I seem to have a hard time finding books with more than one-dimensional characters, that aren’t too dark or violent.
But when I do go on vacation, I’ve got to have something.  I don’t want to just flip through a magazine…

Then a few weeks ago, it dawned on me.  We were at a used bookstore with the kids and my wife was looking for books for home school.  The kids were in the young adult section looking around, and I was browsing with them.  I kept running across books that I had read as a kid:

  •  Mrs. Frisbee and the Rats of NIMH
  • Harriet the Spy
  • The Black Cauldron
  • The White Mountains

All wonderful books.  I kept telling ~D~, “Oh, here’s a good one…here’s another one.”  He looks at them and shrugs.  Not interested.

Then it occurs to me that there must be a bunch that I haven’t read.  Why not read some kiddy lit?  In fact, my wife reads bunches of books to the boys during home school and I haven’t read most of them.  So, I asked for suggestions:

“Hey ~D~, what was your favorite book in school this year?”
“~K~, what book do you like the best?”

And I got several great suggestions:

These were all excellent books (Except Akiko, but even that made me realize how easily kids can suspend their disbelief.) and I could usually read them in a few hours, so they weren’t all consuming.

In fact, this “experiment” was so successful, I’ll probably extend it through the summer, at least.

Leave a comment