Refuting the Lie

Last week when I was feeling heavy, one of the lies from the Enemy that I was believing was: “Life is dreary, the same ol’, same ol’. There is nothing to look forward to.” I think that one of my problems was that I believed that lie was true.

The same thought occurred to me this morning: “There is nothing to look forward to.” After working the same job for years, it is sometimes hard to face another day of work. But then the thought came to me, “That is a lie!”

Satan wants me to believe the lie. He wants me to think that my life is dreary and hopeless, but the more I thought about it, I realized that it was a lie. My life is not hopeless. God loves me today. He is caring for me and changing me into His image. He has good things in store for my life and I can trust him.

Yeah, there are things that are the same and “boring” in my day, but if I trust God, He will give me joy in the journey. Sometimes facing the day is the hardest thing. Once you’ve gotten past looking the “dreariness” in the eye, it’s not so bad and you can get on with the business of living.

Praise God, from Whom all blessings flow;
Praise Him, all creatures here below;
Praise Him above, ye heavenly host;
Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost.